Reasons Why I’m Still Stuck In Thailand

Trust me, living abroad can be really challenging, exhausting and at the same time interesting and Fun. Like I have mentioned before in one of my posts, I have been in Asia for a very long time, I would say most of my adulthood have been spent here. I first came to Asia when I was 18, by then I was in Malaysia but later returned home for a couple of years. Coming back to Asia, I was all over the place, stayed in Thailand for a while, moved to Vietnam considered Cambodia but then I came back to Thailand.PicsArt_1422377783482

It’s been almost a year now being back in Thailand and of course I’m enjoying every moment again. Even though it might be challenging for someone of colour and worse being from Africa, I find this place interesting. Often times I brush off things that really don’t interest me, same thing I do whilst back home too (Botswana).

Now want to know why I’m still stuck here? Ok let’s do it, I have compiled a few reason why I enjoy living in Thailand. Mind you, these are based on my experience some would think otherwise. Anyways lets get to it;

1.FOOD

It’s undeniable that Thai food is ranked amongst the best food in world and of course beating many if not ALL the food around the region. Thai food is heaven, people travel from all corners of the world to come indulge in the Thai cuisines and even take Thai cooking classes. There is so much to choose from, you’ll never run out of options, from quick snacks like chicken/pork satays, to rice or noodles to mango and sticky rice dessert, it’s EVERYTHING. I actually never knew mango and rice could go together to make a mouth-watering dessert, it is a must try in Thailand.

 

2. TRANSPORT

Whether you are travelling within the city Bangkok, travelling to the north, south or east of the country there is abundance of transport readily available. Bangkok, a city with a population of over 8 million people, you can only imagine how hectic traffic gets, but I still give Hanoi the crown, Hanoi traffic is madness. I want to believe that there is some level of organisation when it come to transport system here and there is plenty to choose from, there are 3 types of train services that you can use, Taxis, Uber, GrabTaxi (works just like Uber), motorbikes, Songthaew, Tuk Tuk and so forth. You see – PLENTY. However if you want to beat the traffic, the up-class train system (BTS) and motorbikes are what I recommend, I use these everyday at least twice a day to go about my daily routine

 

3. SHOPPING

Just like food, Thailand is the land of SHOPPING, people travel on shopping holidays in Thailand, if you don’t believe me ask anyone who has travelled here, they will tell you that they shopped til they literally DROPPED. The clothes are very reasonably priced, sometimes I feel so bad that I’m not a fashionista, I could be SLAYING and SNATCHING WEAVES too but nope, I’m just a regular guy who loves his jeans/pants and T-shirts. I want to believe that Thailand has the largest weekend market in South East Region, Chatuchak Market, also known as JJ Market, trust me you can get ANYTHING at this market, from clothes to pets to furniture, you name it. The prices are perfect based on the quality of the stuff one gets.

 

4. EXPLORING

There is so much to do and plenty of choices too, you’ll never get bored, visiting the same places over and over again. Quite a diverse country, from the South where is the land of white sand beaches and full-moon parties, places like Phuket, Koh Phi Phi, Koh Lanta, Koh Samui, Koh Tao, you name it, it’s a haven for a nice beach holiday.  Up north to Chiang Mai, a very lovely mountainous place, great for hiking and even great place to meditate, Wat Prathat Doi Suthep is deemed to be great. Then you talk of Bangkok you talk nightlife, modernization with an infusion of history and culture. A lot of museums, rooftop bars to visit, historical buildings to visit and of course shopping.

 

5. INEXPENSIVE

The food here is cheap, transport is too, you can get a really good meal for as little as $1-$1.15 (30- 40 baht) and pieces of clothing for as little as $2 i.e when you shop right. When you know the right places to buy stuff you can go much longer than the other people with the little money you make here. I have friends from western countries who’ve said that they prefer living here over their countries even though they earn half or even less of what they used to or could have been earning.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
10 Baht for a drumstick

6. CULTURE & HISTORY

Thai still uphold its culture and they embrace it beyond and its highly influenced by Buddhism. When they greet each other and everyone they put their palms together and bow, its called the WAI. 6p.m the national anthem plays across the country and everyone needs to stand still for a minute, its kind of freaky for a first timer but once you get the hang of it you automatically join in. You head up to the north of Thailand, you have people of the Long Neck, women with Neck Pieces that elongate their necks. The history of the country is very rich, a country that has never been colonised, THE KINGDOM OF THAILAND, it still has sites dating back from the 19th century during the civil wars with neighbouring countries like Burma (now Myanmar), and some of the places are now UNESCO HERITAGE SITES.

 

7. CONVENIENCE 

There are 7/11s everywhere, I think there are like a kilometer apart and there are the definition of what a convenient store is about, you can get literally anything from toiletry, food, drinks, medication and so forth, and they are 24 hours, YEP 24/7. If you are yearning for a late night cooked meal, for sure they will be one mobile quick food stall somewhere around your area. Taxis as well are always available 24/7.711

8. YOU ARE NEVER ALONE

There is always a huge community of expats and locals who are always out to meet people as well as friendly travellers who sometimes look for travel mates or looking for tips and hangouts.

 

9. WEATHER

Even though I sweat a lot, I do like the tropical warm weather here, I don’t have to worry about getting winter clothes, summer throughout AWESOMENSS. 8b107-p4040319

10. MASSAGE
For as little as $10 you can get a really good massage, just like the Thai cuisines, Thai massage is haven, you leave the spa feeling like a brand new person. What’s more interesting too is that you can get your massage by the beach, more AWESOMENESS. A massage in Thai it’s a necessity, a lot of walking during the day wears one out.Thai Massage 9526374_l

So these are some of the reason why I’m enjoying this place, there is more but I think 10 it’s more than enough. I’m enjoying every moment. Have THAILAND on your to visit place, you won’t regret.

Have you been to THAILAND? What did you enjoy?

Signing out

Mr Orsen Pepe

Facebook NESRO

Twitter @Mr_Orsen 

Instagram @Mr_Orsen

6 thoughts on “Reasons Why I’m Still Stuck In Thailand

  1. Its def understandable how you can get stuck there! you pretty much hit all the points – and esp the food & the travel inside of thailand, it’s pretty spectacular :)) enjoy a thai massage for the rest of us!

    Like

Leave a Reply

